Las Brisas, my first area

Hey Everyone!!!

You guys are awesome. I can hardly believe I’ve been in Honduras for Two weeks! Its so crazy! and Awesome! ha. I seriously love it.

Okay I honestly can’t remember what was in my last email and I don’t feel like rereading it so I’m sorry if I repeat anything.

My area. Las Brisas. (Don’t worry; it took me till yesterday to find out that it means “The Breezes” yep. #whatlanguageamisupposedtobespeakingagain) Turn out that I lied to you last week, It’s been an area since 2009. The “Carpeta” or Area Book has a page where all the Missionaries who have served here write their names. Hma Marroquin and I are the first sisters #girlpower Apperently it’s really really small. But I wouldn’t really know since I have nothing to compare it to but the MTC ha.

We don’t have hot water. Which actually is not a big deal at all since its so hot here. Its also really nice in the mornings, because let’s be honest, nothing wakes you up like a cold shower. I really do like the area though. We’re just outside the city so the stake center “El Benque” is only a short bus ride away. But let me clarify something, when I say “Bus” its not the same kind of bus you usually think of. Its really a van. With a sliding door. That they’ve stuffed as many chairs in as they can. Ha, but I love it, really, I love everything here. Including the Baleadas (look them up).

My companion is awesome; she’s from Guatamala and is a native speaker. Super Filas…or Pilas…I don’t really know ha, but it means Super awesome. She’s a great teacher, and she has all these awesome object lessons for the concepts of the gospel that are really effective to help people understand. She’s super funny. Most the time the jokes go right over my head, but the ones I do understand are hilarious. Also, when she asks you a question it’s like she’s looking into your soul. It’s pretty cool. ha, This week we were visiting a family in the ward and she asked if the man sitting in the corner was the father of the women we were talking to. Turns out it was her husband. Haha, and yesterday we were teaching a younger man and woman that were members of the church and she asked how long they had been married. Turns out they weren’t ha, he was just visiting. I think they were dating, but I’m not really sure how to ask that in Spanish so I don’t know for sure.

Last week we were going to visit a recent convert. Turns out he lives on the other side of a creek. A pretty decently sized creek. And there were no stepping stones. Ha, I was joking with my Hma, Marroquin and Evelin (the member that was with us) that my Husband had better be really handsome because I was doing this. ha. But on the other side we ended up contacting a woman who was super receptive to our message, and that was blessing enough. But really it was an awesome experience, because the laughter brought me and my companion closer together, and lifted my spirits.

I got to wash my clothes by hand this week! What an adventure! It’s actually really soothing. ha, #gonnabeagreathomemaker

Something that has taken some getting used to has been the accents. Some people have really think accents, others none at all. I can understand most of what my companion says, and the missionaries from US or Mexico, but in Honduras,a lot of people don’t say their “S”s. so instead of Nosotros its Nohotros, or sabe is habe. It gets interesting; especially when they’re talking really fast, but I’m starting to pick up a little so that’s nice.

A couple nights ago the bishop called and asked if we had been praying hard for a baptizm, turns out a kid had contacted him and wanted get baptized, so we get to teach him the lessons. Our first one with him is this week, so I’ll let you know how it goes.

Last week I learned a lot about Faith. I don’t have time to tell the whole story, but I wrote it in my journal. But the theme was D&C 6:36 “Doubt not, fear not” This week’s theme has been “Be Bold”. Especially in following the spirit. I definitely have a lot to work on, but I’m so glad God is teaching me, and knows what I need. I’ve also been trying to speak more. It reminds me of Hmo Hardy’s saying, “speak until your tongue bleeds” I wasn’t as good as I should have been in the MTC, but now I realize it also means to be bold, even if the only thing I can think to ask is, “cuantos anos tiene”, How old are you?

I’ve also been opened to a whole new world of scripture study. I learn something new every day.

Anyway, love you all! Got to go!

Hermana Robertson

Leave a Reply

