Honduras here I come! Week 5

DSC00156Sept 24, 2013
From Darby

Hey everyone!
Last P-day in the MTC! It’s crazy, I’m supposed to be able email you right before I leave, but I’m a little shaky on what the flight plans are. I just got a letter from my mission president telling me things to do before I get to the MTC…I’m going to email him back and see what’s going on.
This week has been pretty crazy, but very cool. We had a crazy torrent of rain and the gutters were overflowing. Just a little taste of what it’s going to be like in Honduras I guess. We got to go to another class that was still in their first week, it was crazy to see how much I’ve progressed, in the language, in teaching skills, and in how to recognize the spirit.
Okay. The coolest thing happened this week…how do I go into it…whatever. Okay. So on Sunday we listened to a talk by Elder Scott about prayer. It was really, really good. But, I was also having a hard time. I was frustrated about something (I don’t remember what) and sitting there, listening to Elder Scott reminded me of Papa in the assisted living center. Elder Scott also talked about how his wife Jenean also served a mission. The parallels with Papa and Nana kept piling up, and after the talk, I missed Papa so much, it was an ache. I was trying not to cry, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned here, it’s that if you’re having a hard time you need to tell someone. Always. Even if nothing changes, just knowing that someone else knows and cares is a huge relief. Anyway, at dinner I told the Hermanas in my district what was going on, and Hermana Hymas asked if I wanted a blessing. It was so crazy, I hadn’t even thought of it, and I was planning on getting a blessing before I left, so from a logical point of view, I didn’t feel like it really made sense. But as soon as she said it, it just felt right. It felt good. Anyway I prayed to know who to ask to give it, and one of the Elders in my district popped into my head. That night I asked him. It was amazing. He had no idea why I wanted the blessing, but I testify that he spoke the words of God.
After the blessing he talked to me and asked what was going on, and I explained. He told me that we were not alone. In fact he thought it was his Grandpa at first. The moment he told me that I could feel my face crumple. Father in Heaven knows us. He loves us. He answers our prayers at a time when they will have the most impact for us. I’m so grateful for the plan of salvation and the comfort it gives us.
At the end of Elder Scott’s talk they sang the closing song and a sister was about to say the prayer, when he stopped her, so you know it was inspired. And said this:
“Remember, the Lord has called you to succeed, not to fail. Sometimes it may seem terribly hard, but He wants you to grow. He will not abandon you. He inspired your call. He knows who you are. He knows what you need. He knows what He wants you to become, and this mission experience is an opportunity He has give you to discover things about yourself you never knew; capacities you never knew you had, strength beyond what you felt you had, and the capacity to love and serve which will sustain you throughout the rest of your life. Remember, you have been called and He will fit the task to your capabilities. I testify in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.” -Elder Richard G. Scott, Missionary Training Center, April 16, 2013
In a lighter topic, I almost scored a goal in soccer, I feel like I’m getting more confident if not better 😀 but the ball popped, I’m not sure if I’ll be playing anymore till I get to Honduras. I’m so excited! I want to meet the people. To help them, to share the Gospel. It’s going to be fantastic.
I love you all!
Hermana Robertson

Leave a Reply

