I killed my first cockroach!

DSC00148DSC00143
Hey everyone!

Week three has been great. Its hard to believe that we’re the veterans compared to all the new missionaries coming in. I finally got your mailed letters this week, it turns out that the MTC address in our packets was wrong so it took an extra week to get here. The real address is:

Darby Robertson

Honduras San Pedro Sula West Mission

Missionary Training Center

Carr. Tenayuca – Chalmita No. 828

Col. Zona Escolor, Deleg. G.A. Madero

C.P. 07230, Mexico, D.F. Mexico

Its Mexican Independance day this week and the comedor (lunchroom) is all dressed up. They’ve also been giving us little candy’s at each meal. I also had the unusual, ah, pleasure of eating cow tongue. COW TONGUE. I knew it tasted funny when I started eating it (like mayonaise actually) but I just drowned it in the soggy chips that they served with it. It wasn’t until afterward that the elders told us that it was cow tongue. When we told one of the now sisters she said, “I can’t wait to tell my parents that I french kissed a dead cow”.

I killed my first cocroach yesterday. We really haven’t had any problems since we don’t keep food in the casa, but I guess Hermana Howell has some smelly things in her bag and it was unzipped. Anyway she opens up the bag and is like, “guys, theres a cocroach in my bag”. I was going to grab some toilet paper and take it outside, but when I grabbed it, it fell out. Lets just say I freaked a little. I guess the Hermanas were in the next room and suddenly heard me screaming “Die, die, die!”. Ha, I’d heard stories about how it took a couple times to kill cocroaches so I stood on my shoe for a couple of minutes. When I finally picked the shoe up to take a picture it looked pretty dead. Imagine my horror when, while Hermana Howell was taking the picture, it started moving!!! I flushed it down the toilet and that was the end of that.

I finally got some tennis shoes. The tienda (store) had some, but they were all too big so they went to special order them. Ha, the owner knows my name now because I went in so many times to ask if they were there yet. I’ll send a picture of them next week.

On a more spiritual note we heard a devotional by Elder Holland last week that was absolutely incredible. I feel like the whole thing was meant for me. One of the highlights was the dedicatory prayer for some buildings in the Provo MTC. He blessed it to be protected from all acts of terrorism, and that angels would gaurd the doors, the windows, and the hallways. The very next day I got one of Dad’s letters. The second sentence was,”Angels guard the sacred ground on which you are being trained”. I have a firm testimony that there are no such things as coincidences.

I’ve learned so much more this week, but there really just isn’t time to write it all down. I want you to know that I love you and miss you so much, and God loves you too.

Be safe,

Hermana Robertson

P.S. If you haven’t seen the pictures of me and the sisters in my casa it should be on Facebook…LDS Share I think?

Leave a Reply

